Notifications

In phase/Out of Phase  

RSS

CoachDavidP
(@fizzlife)
Gold
February 13, 2016 9:38 am  

Term I heard when discussing defensive backs and coverage techniques.  Can some one explain what it means to get "In phase" with the receiver when picking them up in coverage, or a good reference to read up on it?  Thanks.

David (Fizzlife)Extreme Ownership -- Jocko Willink and Leif Babin

Michael
(@michael)
Kryptonite
February 13, 2016 9:44 am  

I'm no expert, but I did hear Saban talk about it.

The way he used the terms, in phase means you're in good shape and out of phase means you're in trouble and have to recover. 

He said in phase you play the ball and out of phase you run to the man to get back in phase.

Michael can not receive PM's, emails or respond to Posts. He passed away in September 2018. To honor his contributions we are leaving his account active. R.I.P - Dumcoach Staff.

ReplyQuote
MHcoach
(@mhcoach)
Diamond
Florida
February 13, 2016 9:44 am  

D

This is primarily a man coverage technique.

In Phase referring to being in sync or position with the offensive player.

Out Of Phase meaning out of coverage position.

When a defender is out of phase he must battle to get back into phase first then defend.

Hope that helps.

Joe

"Champions behave like champions before they're champions: they have a winning standard of performance before they are winners"Bill Walsh

ReplyQuote
CoachCalande
(@www-coachcalande-com)
Diamond
February 13, 2016 10:16 am  

Term I heard when discussing defensive backs and coverage techniques.  Can some one explain what it means to get "In phase" with the receiver when picking them up in coverage, or a good reference to read up on it?  Thanks.

fizz,

We are a man to man team.  We stress staying phase, once in phase we can then play the ball. you have to play the man first, get into phase...but what does that mean?

description of "in phase" for us: