Notifications

WT6 Cov1  

  RSS

Vince148
(@vince148)
Gold
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 2337
May 12, 2014 8:19 am  

Can you even run cover 1 from WT6 or do you have to morph into a 44? I guess a good example would be WT6 vs. wing-T. Who gets the TE in cover 1?


Quote
ZACH
 ZACH
(@bucksweep58)
Diamond
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 9395
Coach
May 12, 2014 8:25 am  

Can you even run cover 1 from WT6 or do you have to morph into a 44? I guess a good example wood be WT6 vs. wing-T. Who gets the TE in cover 1?

Wt6 cover 1
1 fs playin deep whole
6 down lineman
4 remaining players to cover 5 potential receivers

Question is who do you leave alone?

Thats just how i think if things.

I can explain it to you, I can't understand if for you.


ReplyQuote
Pearls of Wisdom
(@pearls-of-wisdom)
Platinum
Joined: 6 years ago
Posts: 4446
May 12, 2014 8:40 am  

Wt6 cover 1
1 fs playin deep whole
6 down lineman
4 remaining players to cover 5 potential receivers

Question is who do you leave alone?

Thats just how i think if things.

NO  ONE.  You rush 5, play 5 on the 5 elgibles, & one FREE! 
PS:  As a variation you CAN rush 4, play 6 on the 5 elgibles (with ONE as the "RAT IN THE HOLE"), and one FREE.

My Contact Info: Coach Bill Mountjoy phone: 804-716-7038 EST /  Email: butzadams@hotmail.com


ReplyQuote
DL
 DL
(@daniel-lyons)
Platinum
Joined: 9 years ago
Posts: 4984
May 12, 2014 8:51 am  

NO  ONE.  You rush 5, play 5 on the 5 elgibles, & one FREE! 
PS:  As a variation you CAN rush 4, play 6 on the 5 elgibles (with ONE as the "RAT IN THE HOLE"), and one FREE.

Bill,

I was going through some of the Wt6 stuff.

In zero who covers the #2's in spread 2 x 2 and 3 x 1 and who covers #3 in 5 wide (3 x 2)?

Do you move a DE to one side and free to another 2 x 2?  Or keep the Free and move both DE's to the number 2's?

Or keep the DE's and move an Inside LB?  (I like this option least)


ReplyQuote
Pearls of Wisdom
(@pearls-of-wisdom)
Platinum
Joined: 6 years ago
Posts: 4446
May 12, 2014 9:10 am  

Bill,

I was going through some of the Wt6 stuff.

In zero who covers the #2's in spread 2 x 2 and 3 x 1 and who covers #3 in 5 wide (3 x 2)?

Do you move a DE to one side and free to another 2 x 2?  Or keep the Free and move both DE's to the number 2's?

Or keep the DE's and move an Inside LB?  (I like this option least)

SEE COVER 0 FROM WT-6 ATTACHED:

My Contact Info: Coach Bill Mountjoy phone: 804-716-7038 EST /  Email: butzadams@hotmail.com


ReplyQuote
DL
 DL
(@daniel-lyons)
Platinum
Joined: 9 years ago
Posts: 4984
May 12, 2014 9:31 am  

SEE COVER 0 FROM WT-6 ATTACHED:

That sheet doesn't cover it enough. 

So according to the sheet H or C has #1  F or S has #2.    Then it says the rest are covered by LBers or DE's.  Most of the Pics have LBers covering other receivers.

If I am in 40 C Man going by the sheets rules than L has #2 to one side and F has the other so this:

                                                      F
        H                L            L                H
                    E  T      N    N    T  E
    O                  O  O  C  O  O                  O
              O                                      O
                              B  Q

becomes:

                                                    F
        H    L                        L                H
                    E  T      N    N    T  E
    O                  O  O  C  O  O                  O
              O                                      O
                              B  Q

Does remaining L move to middle and who has the vacated B gap? 

I can think of a lot of solutions, like L two gaps or T takes the B or whatever. 

I am just wondering what the standard adjustment is if I made a 40 C man call and they came out in a spread formation.


ReplyQuote
Pearls of Wisdom
(@pearls-of-wisdom)
Platinum
Joined: 6 years ago
Posts: 4446
May 12, 2014 9:43 am  

That sheet doesn't cover it enough. 

So according to the sheet H or C has #1  F or S has #2.    Then it says the rest are covered by LBers or DE's.  Most of the Pics have LBers covering other receivers.

If I am in 40 C Man going by the sheets rules than L has #2 to one side and F has the other so this:

                                                      F
        H                L            L                H
                    E  T      N    N    T  E
    O                  O  O  C  O  O                  O
              O                                      O
                              B  Q

becomes:

                                                    F
        H    L                        L                H
                    E  T      N    N    T  E
    O                  O  O  C  O  O                  O
              O                                      O
                              B  Q

Does remaining L move to middle and who has the vacated B gap? 

I can think of a lot of solutions, like L two gaps or T takes the B or whatever. 

I am just wondering what the standard adjustment is if I made a 40 C man call and they came out in a spread formation.

In Cover 0 there is ONE rule - I don't care WHAT they line up in:  This is SIMPLE (trust me -  I have either played in OR coached in this defense since 1952):

Corners = #1 each side
Safety = #2 callside
DE away from Safety has to cover #2 away from call (that is why DE's in the WT-6 are S/S types)

The above accounts for FOUR RECEIVERS.  The FIFTH receiver (#3) goes to either ILB depending on your CALL.

PHONE IF THIS ISN'T CLEAR (804-716-7038)

My Contact Info: Coach Bill Mountjoy phone: 804-716-7038 EST /  Email: butzadams@hotmail.com


ReplyQuote
ZACH
 ZACH
(@bucksweep58)
Diamond
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 9395
Coach
May 12, 2014 9:46 am  

NO  ONE.  You rush 5, play 5 on the 5 elgibles, & one FREE! 
PS:  As a variation you CAN rush 4, play 6 on the 5 elgibles (with ONE as the "RAT IN THE HOLE"), and one FREE.

I agree 100%... i was hinting that with 6 rush and cover 1 hed be short a man... so your solution should open eyes...

I can explain it to you, I can't understand if for you.


ReplyQuote
Pearls of Wisdom
(@pearls-of-wisdom)
Platinum
Joined: 6 years ago
Posts: 4446
May 12, 2014 9:52 am  

I agree 100%... i was hinting that with 6 rush and cover 1 hed be short a man... so your solution should open eyes...

No one is ever "left open" in Cov 1 OR Cov 0 & the adjustment RULES are SIMPLE as it gets!

My Contact Info: Coach Bill Mountjoy phone: 804-716-7038 EST /  Email: butzadams@hotmail.com


ReplyQuote
DL
 DL
(@daniel-lyons)
Platinum
Joined: 9 years ago
Posts: 4984
May 12, 2014 10:25 am  

In Cover 0 there is ONE rule - I don't care WHAT they line up in:  This is SIMPLE (trust me -  I have either played in OR coached in this defense since 1952):

Corners = #1 each side
Safety = #2 callside
DE away from Safety has to cover #2 away from call (that is why DE's in the WT-6 are S/S types)

The above accounts for FOUR RECEIVERS.  The FIFTH receiver (#3) goes to either ILB depending on your CALL.

PHONE IF THIS ISN'T CLEAR (804-716-7038)

It's clear now.  That comment cleared up all the coverage questions I had.

I still have some other questions.  I will try to call shortly.  Have a few things at work that need my attention first.

Thank you,

Dan Lyons


ReplyQuote
Pearls of Wisdom
(@pearls-of-wisdom)
Platinum
Joined: 6 years ago
Posts: 4446
May 12, 2014 10:39 am  

It's clear now.  That comment cleared up all the coverage questions I had.

I still have some other questions.  I will try to call shortly.  Have a few things at work that need my attention first.

Thank you,

Dan Lyons

Phone today from now until 9 PM/Eastern.  804-716-7038

PS:  There really are no exceptions to the rules I posted!

My Contact Info: Coach Bill Mountjoy phone: 804-716-7038 EST /  Email: butzadams@hotmail.com


ReplyQuote
Share: