Notifications
Clear all

No Huddle and wrist-coaches

Page 4 / 5

Coach TonyM
(@ramoody)
Gold

I've been away for a while. This thread went of the rails. So much drama for me this off-season as a coach I thought about taking a year off but I gave the kids my word I would be there.

Anyways ..  Cisar you have used your system with wrist coaches for almost 2 decades. You figured out what worked and what didn't. That is great ! I used wrist coaches for 1 year using a different offense and it didn't work, FOR ME. Could it work for someone else smarter than me ... I'm sure of it. Just not for me. When did this thread go from helping another coach to calling someone out about the actual hours spent ? Okay maybe, "hundreds of hours" was an exaggeration but my point was, FOR ME, it sucked. I wouldn't do it again. If it works for you and your offense that is great. Didn't work for me and I felt like I spent an insane amount of time on the wrist inserts.

I'm sure if I stuck it out the wrist coaches would have eventually become easier. Just not for me.

I've been on this board for years now and still think I suck as a coach. I always respected you Cisar, bought your books and read your blog but honestly you can sometimes rub coaches the wrong way with the holier than though posts. Just chill. I'm here to learn, share MY experiences as a coach and what has/has not worked for me. Some self reflection is in order. And I say that with all due respect.

Have to agree with Josh on this...and I use wrist coaches every year.  Its a pain in my a$$. Having to modify them even when you just tweak or add one or two plays... laminating them..washing them..  But I do it every year. I am one of those anal/OCD guys and I think it helps, even though I have signals as well.  I spend alot of time on them, every year.