Clear all

4-2-5 for Dummies

Page 1 / 4

No3Putts
(@no3putts)
Bronze
Topic starter  

Hi All,

Looks like I'm going to be a DC for an AYFL cadet level team this year, and the header wants to run a 4-2-5. Unfortunately, I don't have much experience with it and he's only really got concepts in his head. (Trust me...I know.)

Anyhow, I can't work that way. The problem I'm finding is much of the material I can find is way beyond my level of understanding defensive concepts and probably overkill for a 10/11 year old team. Also, I'm new to AYFL so I'm not really sure what to expect and be prepared for from the offenses we'll face.

So, unless someone already has a youth 4-2-5 manual they'd like to share, I have a few questions.

1. Run vs. Coverage Strength:
My understading is we would key a run strength and set our T/N and S/W based on that strength. We're not planning on flipping ends. So we'll have  7/3 on strong and 1/5 on the weak. However, the coverage call may often times differ from run strength. Header was considering just going with one call and simplifying it to Wide side/QB throwing arm. Will this get us into trouble? is the split strength concept overkill for this age group?

2. Adjustments in the box:

Looking for advice on 1. Two TE sets, Overload (do we consider single wing just like overload), No TE/Spread.

3. Coverages: Looks like cover 3 is the easiest fit, but wanted thoughts on what if any we should install and what keys/actions would take us out of cover 3.

4. Blitzes: Can't seem to find much material on blitzing packages. Any suggestions?

I'm sure there is more, but I'm starting here.

Thanks,

No3's

Dusty Ol Fart
(@youth-coach)
Diamond

Serious Question.  How old is a CADET team? 
Second Serious Question.  How much Spread or Passing do you expect to face?