Notifications
Clear all

Wide Tackle 6

Lucky7
(@lucky7)
Copper
Topic starter  

I’m new to Dumcoach and thankful for this forum. It’s my 3rd year being a youth head coach. I have been reading and re-reading Coach Mountjoy’s info on the wide tackle 6. Excellent stuff. I have finally had an Epiphany and am changing alignment of my tackles from a 5 tech to a 7 tech. After looking at last year’s film this is the way to go. Everyone is either trying to go off-tackle or hit the tight end on a pop pass. I believe by having my tackle hit the inside shoulder of the tight end we can prevent the pop pass and slow the TE as he attempts to block out on the DE. No one has had the TE block down. Any thoughts.....

32wedge
(@32wedge)
Silver Moderator

I think the 7 Tech alignment will be more effective against off tackle than the 5.  I really like playing them as 6 Techs head up on the TEs looking inside.  We expect the opposition to run at the B Gap because of the big bubble there so we work on stopping that a lot.

A good 6 Tech will force an off tackle team to adjust or run somewhere else.

ReplyQuote
gumby_in_co
(@gumby_in_co)
Platinum

I've always tried to kick a 6 or wider. If your definition of a 7 tech is inside shoulder of the TE (a dozen different coaches will name their techniques a dozen different ways), then yeah, I think that might make it harder to run off tackle.  I would have my TE block down. Since we don't double team, it would be a one on one. If your 7 is hitting my TE's inside shoulder, it would be task to move that 7  . . .  if my goal were to move him.  😉

Mega splits nonsense aside, I think you're on to something if you see a lot of power off tackle. Yes, there are thousands of adjustments, but I tend to believe that if a defense forces me to adjust, they are on their way to success.

When in doot . . . glass and oot.

ReplyQuote
PSLCOACHROB
(@pslcoachrob)
Kryptonite