Translation from practice to game

Page 1 / 2

RoHi
 RoHi
(@rhoibcekrst)
Copper
Topic starter  

Hello Coaches,

I have been an assistant coach for some years and now have stepped into a head coach for a 5th & 6th grade team, I still assist the 7th & 8th grade team.  I have a lot of first year players on the 5th & 6th grade team.  We teach crawl, walk, run...we rep it as much as we can and send those that aren't getting the drill with a coach to get trained up, while we keep the rest getting reps.  I would love to get feedback on what other coaches do to get kids to be aggressive against an opponent.  In practice, they are really aggressive with each other, however come game day, I've had kids fight to come off the field vs complaining about not getting playing time.  We get smacked in the mouth.  I can see in the game and especially on film the kids are in position to make the tackle but will slow up, reach, or just slide pass the runner instead of making the tackle.  I really am at a loss of why they are so aggressive in practice with their own teammates but not against an opponent this year.  Any and all feedback is greatly welcomed.

"Hook'Em"

Pearls of Wisdom
(@pearls-of-wisdom)
Platinum

Hello Coaches,