Notifications

Back in the game  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS

HCScott
(@herb-scott)
Bronze
April 28, 2018 9:23 am  

After a year away I'm back with an 8th grade team.
My 3rd program rebuild.

Parkrose did not play football last year, the original founder and sponsor called to see if I'd help him put a youth program (back) together.
They were 3rd thru 8th but their longtime leader just quit with no plan for the program and they failed to field teams.

We're going to play 6/7 grade team in a 7th grade JV league and a 7/8 grade team in 8th grade Varsity league this year. 

No 2nd graders! 🙂  School district is sponsoring flag football for elementary students and 6th graders not ready for 7th grade tackle competition.

I have 14 years experience at 5/6 level with really good competitive hard hitting teams. Looking forward to the step up.
Any advice from you all would be appreciated

"The quarterback must go down and he must go down hard"

CoachDP
(@coachdp)
Kryptonite
North Carolina
High School
April 28, 2018 4:21 pm  

Any advice from you all would be appreciated

Regarding?

--Dave

"The Greater the Teacher, the More Powerful the Player."

The Mission Statement: "I want to show any young man that he is far tougher than he thinks, that he can accomplish more than what he dreamed and that his work ethic will take him wherever he wants to go."

#BattleReady newhope

ReplyQuote
HCScott
(@herb-scott)
Bronze
April 29, 2018 8:03 am  

Regarding the change from 5/6 to 7/8?
The potential differences so I prepare. Since I have not coached at this level and take it seriously I want to do the best job I can and learn as much as possible, I'm confident but some anxiety of the unknown I guess.
I'm sure I can get some good info on preparation, along with any other direction.

Below is what I've got going

1st priority is our academic program where we expect the players to be accountable for their effort as a student and effort as a gentleman.