Page 1 / 5
  RSS

CoachDP
(@coachdp)
Kryptonite
North Carolina
High School
October 7, 2019 8:27 pm  

In thinking about the many questions on this forum that start with "How do you....," it made me wonder how coaches learn to teach.  Over the years, when I've interviewed coaches for my staff, they inevitably started off with, "I know the game." A statement that really means very little when it comes to coaching successfully.  "Knowing the game," whether a person has watched the game on TV, or whether they played at the professional level, simply doesn't mean anything as it pertains to coaching.  It's akin to saying that because I've been speaking English for more than 50 years, that "I know English," and am therefore qualified to teach it.  Or because I spent more than a dozen years in schools and universities being taught, that I know how to teach.  Those aren't qualifications. 

Anyone can read a book or watch a video on "Installing the Such & Such Offense."  That doesn't mean you can teach it well.  In my years of learning math, science, history, etc. from a variety of "qualified" teachers, I found that very, very few were good teachers.  Many just recited their lessons from a book, gave an assignment and graded it.  Fewer taught me information that I could use.  Fewer still taught me how to learn.

Whether I'm reading a book or watching a video on scheme, or listening to coaches at a clinic or at practice, I see many coaches who know how to recite how the scheme is supposed to work.  They can quickly and expertly tell players the routes, coverages and responsibilities of the players.  But I see fewer still who have the expertise to teach it to the players so that they can understand it and apply it, successfully.