Everyone Running th...

Notifications
Clear all

Everyone Running the Same System

Coach Kyle
(@coach-kyle)
Platinum
Topic starter  

Like always, I get to experience another one of those experimental things this year. Everyone in our organization is running the same system. But here's the thing that's particularly interest. I work in finance, and finance is all about developing good processes and then carrying them out, so I'm very familiar with how processes work with adults.

I don't like processes very much at all. The problem with processes is that people tend to think that they're fool proof. Something magical happens when it gets written on paper, people believe it's right. But just because two people can do the same drill doesn't mean that two people are actually doing the same drill the same way. That's what gets lost in process. It's a fool's dream to think that you can install a procedure that will last for six years. It's especially foolish to think that a committee can do it.

Yesterday I saw a somewhat well designed offense written on paper. Everyone was apparently in agreement that they should run that offense. However, when someone asked what drills that they should all run... well it was bull. You can't have a committee build a procedure. It should be left up to one person, and that person needs to be able to weigh criticism and use it to improve the process.

The best idea is to simply not have a process, or if you do, use something that's battle tested, like Dave Cisar's system.

I will say this though, so far, this new place that I'm at is looking pretty good. I just think this whole "everyone does the same thing" thing is going to blow up quick and become unfollowable.

Deaths while walking 4,743Deaths from football 12

CoachCraig
(@ch72)
Gold

Still In Dearborn?

"Whether you think you can, or cannot, you're probably right."

ReplyQuote
CoachDP
(@coachdp)
Kryptonite