How big of a role d...

Notifications
Clear all

How big of a role does seniority play in your organization?

Page 1 / 2

Shamrocks
(@shamrocks)
Gold
Topic starter  

I ask this question because sometimes the coaches who coach the younger kids demand stuff like, “they should go first for equipment handouts”, they should get a choice piece of real estate in regards to practice field” , "if it rains they get first crack at going indoors"and so on.

I have been coaching here for 8 years and it has always been based on seniority, starting with 8th grade on down.  8th graders get equipment first, 8th graders get their choice of the practice space allotted to our program, and 8th graders always came before a 2nd grader or flag, ALWAYS.  Kind of like high school, varsity gets first crack at everything, than JV and lastly freshmen.

Does everyone do it this way?  Just curious because we have some newer coaches coaching younger kids starting to rock the boat a bit.

CoachDP
(@coachdp)
Kryptonite

8th graders get equipment first, 8th graders get their choice of the practice space allotted to our program, and 8th graders always came before a 2nd grader or flag, ALWAYS.

Equipment was handed out alphabetically, A-Z or Z-A.  For instance, from 9-10am we would issue equipment for last names A-G.  From 10-11am, it was for H-N, etc.  As for field location, you took what area you wanted.  We never had issues about who had what part of the practice field.

--Dave

"The Greater the Teacher, the More Powerful the Player."

The Mission Statement: "I want to show any young man that he is far tougher than he thinks, that he can accomplish more than what he dreamed and that his work ethic will take him wherever he wants to go."

#BattleReady newhope

ReplyQuote
PSLCOACHROB
(@pslcoachrob)
Kryptonite

Who ever the board likes the most at the time.  ::) I believe in seniority.

ReplyQuote
Shamrocks
(@shamrocks)
Gold
Topic starter