How long does it ta...

Notifications
Clear all

How long does it take to feel competent on game day?

Page 1 / 2

CoachRJ
(@rjohns99)
Bronze
Topic starter  

This is my first year aspiring to be a truly competent coach.  Last year I had no idea what I didn't know and just made everything up.  We just finished game 3 and my lessons learned list grows every week.

One of the things that gives me the most difficulty is game day management.  I have the manual, a to-do list, AC responsibilities assigned, etc.  Once the game starts I get "helmet fire", as fighter pilots say, and get overloaded.  Headcount, alignment, adjustment, quick pointers, edge count, play call, D reaction, D&D, substitution, repeat all while fretting the play clock.  I don't think I have actually done a proper edge count yet.  I am on the field with them and still have a hard time processing it all.

I had some major failures this week, all rookie mistakes.  Too many on the field once, too few once. I called TO and said to my AC, get them some water and they run off to the bench.  Had to call another one to get them back on the field in time (that would be funny but for the panic it caused me).  First quarter, the opponent has driven to our 5 and at the snap I am watching my NT for penetration. He unloads on the G rather than the A gap and in full practice mode I jump in and start giving correction mid play.  Got chastised for that one. :-[

My question is, how long (games, months, years) does it take to get a handle on game day management?

RJ

"There's no system of play that substitutes for knocking an opponent down.  When you hit, hit hard." - Pop Warner

Andrew76
(@andrew76)
Silver

7 years and I'm still asking the same question.  I get better all the time, but still feel like I'm terrible at it.  Film study helps a lot.

ReplyQuote
mahonz
(@mahonz)
Kryptonite