Maybe I'm just a ba...

Notifications
Clear all

Maybe I'm just a bad coach  

Page 2 / 23

mahonz
(@mahonz)
Kryptonite

This is not going to be a popular response, but sometimes your win/loss record IS a reflection on the talent you have rather than your coaching skills.

I know it sounds like a blame thing, but I used to beat myself up over losses.

I am struggling through a rough year myself, we are 4-4. We are not a talent-rich team and we got blown out yesterday. We are 1-2 players short of a competing against the best. I really need a DE and FB. I have tried several kids at both positions and coached them up, but the kids are young. Next year will be better.

Old

I will agree that speed matters. Tough to compete vs all comers without a little bit of speed somewhere. I also agree that you can be one or two players short of really busting out.

Jimmies and Joes do matter. The best coaches can place them properly. Something I still struggle with after all these years.

What is beautiful, lives forever.

ReplyQuote
Test Account
(@test-account)
Kryptonite

Lots of times its not talent a team lack but maturity. The difference of a 1 year is enormous.

Please don't PM or respond to this Member. It is an account for all of the posts from abandoned or banned Member Accounts.

ReplyQuote
CoachDP
(@coachdp)
Kryptonite

I know it sounds like a blame thing, but I used to beat myself up over losses.

I still do.

--Dave

"The Greater the Teacher, the More Powerful the Player."

The Mission Statement: "I want to show any young man that he is far tougher than he thinks, that he can accomplish more than what he dreamed and that his work ethic will take him wherever he wants to go."

#BattleReady newhope

ReplyQuote
Coach Kyle
(@coach-kyle)
Platinum