Maybe I'm just a ba...

Notifications
Clear all

Maybe I'm just a bad coach  

Page 4 / 23

billb7581
(@billb7581)
Bronze

It's almost like being an Olineman is a disease. Here on my team we strees the importance of it. Our guards always were backs on other teams, we sell it to them.

How in the heck do you do that?  That was our problem this year.  Kids that were O linemen on our league championsip team last year didnt want to play there, in fact they were happy being 10 snap bear crawlers.    We tried selling it, but they weren't buying. +

Coach - "congratulations you're the starting Power Tackle"

Kid - "I dont want to play there"

ReplyQuote
CoachDP
(@coachdp)
Kryptonite

We don't sell "positions."  We sell "football."  Either you want to play it, or you don't.  Either you want to hit, or you don't.  When I yell, "Give me the first 11," they all come running just trying to squeeze themselves into any spot.  They don't think about this position or that, they want to be on the first 11.

--Dave

"The Greater the Teacher, the More Powerful the Player."

The Mission Statement: "I want to show any young man that he is far tougher than he thinks, that he can accomplish more than what he dreamed and that his work ethic will take him wherever he wants to go."

#BattleReady newhope

ReplyQuote
billb7581
(@billb7581)
Bronze

At some point you have to assign them a position, no?

We had a couple of kids that wanted to play center, once we identified our center they weren't receptive to playing anywhere else on the oL.

I understand it's a failure in coaching, I admit, I am not the best coach in the world, I try to be knowledgable, but I couldnt figure out how to sell it. We couldn't get our best OL to play OL if our lives depended on it.    If we stuck them out there despite their protests, they just didnt try so they would get yanked.

ReplyQuote
Coach D
(@coach-d)
Bronze

My kids wanna play line for a couple reasons.