Notifications
Clear all

PLAY NAMING

Page 1 / 5

Sharkbait
(@sharkbait)
Copper
Topic starter  

i would like to change the way our org has named the plays we call. It seems that the old way has concepts that mean different things on different plays and doesn't leave the window open for being creative without creating a new name for the kids to memorize. I feel that if the play calling is consistently named we could teach the language of the plays and the kids would have less to memorize. Now that being said, I am a new coach, 3 years of tackle and 5 years of flag. Not all the coaches in my org would want that change. Since I have the youngest team, they would like for everyone to be on the same page, so as they move up they all hear the same thing. I agree with being on the same page. How should I present my case to them to get the support from the long time coaches who have called it a certain way for a long time.

Changes are not really new names, just the way a play name is structured. I would like to separate the backfield action from the blocking scheme.
Stuff like

pro blue 33 belly = blue belly 33 x-block
47 belly sweep=belly 47 sweep
28 buck sweep= buck 28 jack
32 buck trap=buck 32 trap

Trap is a good example. I run it 3 ways but only want the o-line to have to remember 1.

buck 32 trap
blue belly 22 trap
veer 52 trap

Am I over thinking this? lol but coaching is more fun when I dive deep.

Spyder89
(@spyder89)
Bronze

IMO, you're overthinking it.  From the looks of it, you're really only changing the order that the play is called, except for a couple plays (in which you add new terminology to the playcall which makes it longer and possibly more confusing for kids).  The o-line is already only looking for that trigger word(s) to tell them what to do, putting it in a different order is only going to confuse those who already know the wing-T lingo.

- Ray

ReplyQuote
ZACH
 ZACH
(@bucksweep58)
Diamond

One word play calls