Why I Dont Recuit

Notifications
Clear all

Why I Dont Recuit

Page 6 / 6

gumby_in_co
(@gumby_in_co)
Platinum

Remove the sports element from the equation and envision this as another work place. As an employer myself......I can't imagine a scenario where I would have to deal with the parent of an employee.

Not a parent, but a sister. I've been a DoD contractor for the same customer for going on 20 years. In one of my brief managerial stints, I put a guy on a PIP (Performance Improvement Plan). He refused to sign it, refused to say why, and refused to provide any feedback toward an agreement that he would sign. So I sent him home until he was ready to sign one. His lawyer sister showed up the next day to try to "negotiate" his return to work. Signing any "Improvement Plan" was not on the negotiating table. I'm pretty sure the guy was older than me by 5-10 years.

When in doot . . . glass and oot.

ReplyQuote
J. Potter (seabass)
(@seabass)
Gold

Not as uncommon as you think.  Seriously.  I had to deal with a parent back in 2001.  And there was a period of time - late 00's - where the helicopter shit got crazy.

Not so much anymore, pendulum has swung back a bit.

I suppose you could "choose" to deal with the parent of any employee....I don't know why you would....barring extenuating circumstances. By extenuating, I mean like a special needs employee but especially whiney doesn't fall into that category. No manager or owner has any legal obligation to discuss or deal with any third party unless the third party has been appointed a personal representative of the employee.

You think the helicopter shit has tempered? I haven't seen any tempering of that shit. I think parents are worse now than ever.

ReplyQuote
Test Account
(@test-account)
Kryptonite