Notifications

Why I'm a better coach than you are.  

Page 1 / 3
  RSS

Prodigy
(@prodigy)
Gold
September 1, 2020 4:00 pm  

Yeah it's a click-bait subject line...but I'd like to hear why you're a better coach than the other coaches you encounter.

If you show up for a fair fight, you are unprepared.

mahonz
(@mahonz)
Kryptonite
September 1, 2020 4:35 pm  

Experience. Nothing more, nothing less. I have already made all the stupid mistakes one can make....twice.... but I still pick up plenty of nuggets from others to this day. 

But I am wearing down. Coaching is truly a younger mans thing. Im getting close to hanging up the old whistle. The common mistakes I make now is my inability to show the players what I need during practice. After one practice of showing them route running, for example....I need medication 😎 

What is beautiful, lives forever.

spidermac liked
ReplyQuote
32wedge
(@32wedge)
Silver Moderator
Virginia
Middle School
Only / Head Coach
September 1, 2020 4:40 pm  
Posted by: @mahonz

After one practice of showing them route running, for example....I need medication  

We never practice route running so I will probably be able to coach for a long time still. 

ReplyQuote
ZACH
 ZACH
(@bucksweep58)
Diamond
Coach
September 1, 2020 6:40 pm  

Experience (not as much as mahonz bc he was around for the installment of the penalty flag). My experience as a former player youth- college and league admin really sets me apart from the ordinary dad coach.  However there have been dad coaches who have beaten my team due to something I lacked early on in my coaching career is patience. Patience to trust the process and patience in game. 

End of the day my guys have a good experience and evolved as people. That I attribute to a lot of contributors on this forum. With out this forum I would've never kept coaching. So thank you!

I can explain it to you, I can't understand if for you.

Seth54, Prodigy, mahonz and 1 people liked
ReplyQuote
Dusty Ol Fart