Why I'm a better coach than you are.  

Page 3 / 3
  RSS

chucknduck
(@chucknduck)
Bronze
September 8, 2020 2:16 pm  
Posted by: @coachdp

I know that Mike and Zach have touted their "experience" as an advantage over other coaches, but "experience" is only useful when you can learn and apply from it.  I've seen guys who've coached for 20 years and are just as bad now and they were then.  Mike and Zach (and the rest of us) have learned what experience has taught us, and we've used the application to improve.  Other guys just believe that "the kids gotta want it."  A lot of people graduate from high school every year.  It doesn't mean that they've really learned anything.

--Dave

Coached high school ball with a friend of mine in 2001.  I got away from that school after that season because I didn't like how the bottom half of the roster was treated.  Fifteen years later I coached with this guy again when he got his own program.  He hadn't learned anything despite being a varsity d-coordinator for 15 years.  He just had a bigger ego.   

I use Jim Harbaugh's philosophy when judging coaches, especially myself....."Want to know what kind of a coach you are?  Ask you worst player."

CoachDP and 32wedge liked
ReplyQuote
jrk5150
(@jrk5150)
Diamond
September 9, 2020 5:52 pm  

Interesting topic.  I'm a good coach...at some things.  I think I was a good OC.  Better than many, not as good as some.

I was not a good HC.  Figured that out with two 3-5 seasons.  The first one was pretty good to be 3-5, we didn't have much.  The second season 3-5 was a disaster.  Awful.  Couldn't coach my way out of a paper bag.  That was 6-7-8 win talent that I couldn't get to play.

I think ultimately it comes down to that I burned out over time.  I was a better coach 2009-2014 than I was 2015-2017.  I got tired of the details.  Can't do that and be successful.

In the right situation I think I could be a good AC again.  Not sure I'll have that opportunity now.

ReplyQuote
JustPlay
(@rjbthor)