Is this Pass Interf...
 
Notifications
Clear all

Is this Pass Interference?


Coach Kyle
(@coach-kyle)
Platinum
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 3964
Topic starter  

We play some teams that put their corners deep. It leaves our WR open for a quick throw. We line our WR about 1 and 1/2 yards outside of the tackle and about a yard outside a wing. We're playing a team that blitzes hard this week. And they have DEs that want to go off the edge. If we can complete a pass to the WR, it would mean our WR in space one on one with their CB.

However, I'm worried about the end. They're in a position to make a play, and our QB is short. Can we have our wing block the WR or is that pass interference? Would it have to be a backwards pass? 

Deaths while walking 4,743Deaths from football 12


Quote
CoachDP
(@coachdp)
Kryptonite
Joined: 11 years ago
Posts: 17927
 
Posted by: @coach-kyle

Can we have our wing block the WR or is that pass interference? Would it have to be a backwards pass? 

You want your Wing to block your WR?  

And you're concerned that it could be pass interference?  I'd be concerned that one of my players is blocking another of my players.

--Dave

"The Greater the Teacher, the More Powerful the Player."

The Mission Statement: "I want to show any young man that he is far tougher than he thinks, that he can accomplish more than what he dreamed and that his work ethic will take him wherever he wants to go."

#BattleReady newhope


ReplyQuote
gumby_in_co
(@gumby_in_co)
Platinum
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 4550
 

Assuming you mean "Can we have our wing block the CB":

If the ball crosses the LOS - No.

If the ball does not cross the LOS - Yes.

However, good luck with referees knowing that rule.

This post was modified 2 weeks ago by gumby_in_co

When in doot . . . glass and oot.


ReplyQuote
mahonz
(@mahonz)
Kryptonite
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 23180
 

Im assuming you meant the WB is blocking the DE. 

 

Perfectly legal in any and all scenarios. He is now part of your blocking surface just like a RB blocking. 

What is beautiful, lives forever.


ReplyQuote
Coach Kyle
(@coach-kyle)
Platinum
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 3964
Topic starter  

@mahonz

 

That one. 

 

Makes sense. 

Deaths while walking 4,743Deaths from football 12


ReplyQuote
Coach Kyle
(@coach-kyle)
Platinum
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 3964
Topic starter  

@gumby_in_co

And just to be clear, if it's a forward pass, then it's an incomplete pass if they drop it. Right?

Deaths while walking 4,743Deaths from football 12


ReplyQuote
terrypjohnson
(@terrypjohnson)
Bronze
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 411
 

@coach-kyle Yes, if it's going forward, it's an incomplete pass. I would still coach your kids to fall on it anyway. As Coach @gumby_in_co correctly noted, don't leave it up to the official.

Fight 'em until Hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice -- Dutch Meyer


ReplyQuote
Bob Goodman
(@bob-goodman)
Diamond
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 9649
 

Not only all this, but if the pass is completed in or behind the neutral zone, you can even release your ineligibles downfield to block before the pass is thrown (as well as during, and of course after the pass).  And even if your blockers make contact beyond the neutral zone, it's not interference if the pass doesn't go beyond it.


ReplyQuote
gumby_in_co
(@gumby_in_co)
Platinum
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 4550
 
Posted by: @bob-goodman

Not only all this, but if the pass is completed in or behind the neutral zone, you can even release your ineligibles downfield to block before the pass is thrown (as well as during, and of course after the pass).  And even if your blockers make contact beyond the neutral zone, it's not interference if the pass doesn't go beyond it.

Yes, however, we've been called on it. Ref's don't seem to know the rule, or care.

When in doot . . . glass and oot.


ReplyQuote
gumby_in_co
(@gumby_in_co)
Platinum
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 4550
 
Posted by: @coach-kyle

@gumby_in_co

And just to be clear, if it's a forward pass, then it's an incomplete pass if they drop it. Right?

2 things in play.  

1) if the ball travels parallel or backward from the LOS, a dropped ball is a fumble.

2) if the ball (thrown forward or backward) never crosses the neutral zone, pass interference is not in play by either team. Let's say you throw a bubble screen to your WR and the CB tackles your receiver before the ball ever gets there. 100% legal by the defense. Same scenario, but your flanker back knocks the CB on his butt before the ball gets to the receiver. 100% legal by the offense. Again, good luck with the refs on that one.

When in doot . . . glass and oot.


ReplyQuote
Bob Goodman
(@bob-goodman)
Diamond
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 9649
 
Posted by: @gumby_in_co
Posted by: @coach-kyle

@gumby_in_co

And just to be clear, if it's a forward pass, then it's an incomplete pass if they drop it. Right?

2 things in play.  

1) if the ball travels parallel or backward from the LOS, a dropped ball is a fumble.

2) if the ball (thrown forward or backward) never crosses the neutral zone, pass interference is not in play by either team. Let's say you throw a bubble screen to your WR and the CB tackles your receiver before the ball ever gets there. 100% legal by the defense. Same scenario, but your flanker back knocks the CB on his butt before the ball gets to the receiver. 100% legal by the offense. Again, good luck with the refs on that one.

Tackles the receiver?  Definitely not 100% legal.  It's not interference, but it's holding.


ReplyQuote
gumby_in_co
(@gumby_in_co)
Platinum
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 4550
 
Posted by: @bob-goodman
Posted by: @gumby_in_co
Posted by: @coach-kyle

@gumby_in_co

And just to be clear, if it's a forward pass, then it's an incomplete pass if they drop it. Right?

2 things in play.  

1) if the ball travels parallel or backward from the LOS, a dropped ball is a fumble.

2) if the ball (thrown forward or backward) never crosses the neutral zone, pass interference is not in play by either team. Let's say you throw a bubble screen to your WR and the CB tackles your receiver before the ball ever gets there. 100% legal by the defense. Same scenario, but your flanker back knocks the CB on his butt before the ball gets to the receiver. 100% legal by the offense. Again, good luck with the refs on that one.

Tackles the receiver?  Definitely not 100% legal.  It's not interference, but it's holding.

Hadn't considered that. Need to look up the rule on defensive holding. However, you can legally tackle anyone you "think" has the ball, correct?

When in doot . . . glass and oot.


ReplyQuote
Bob Goodman
(@bob-goodman)
Diamond
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 9649
 
Posted by: @gumby_in_co
Posted by: @bob-goodman
Posted by: @gumby_in_co
Posted by: @coach-kyle

@gumby_in_co

And just to be clear, if it's a forward pass, then it's an incomplete pass if they drop it. Right?

2 things in play.  

1) if the ball travels parallel or backward from the LOS, a dropped ball is a fumble.

2) if the ball (thrown forward or backward) never crosses the neutral zone, pass interference is not in play by either team. Let's say you throw a bubble screen to your WR and the CB tackles your receiver before the ball ever gets there. 100% legal by the defense. Same scenario, but your flanker back knocks the CB on his butt before the ball gets to the receiver. 100% legal by the offense. Again, good luck with the refs on that one.

Tackles the receiver?  Definitely not 100% legal.  It's not interference, but it's holding.

Hadn't considered that. Need to look up the rule on defensive holding. However, you can legally tackle anyone you "think" has the ball, correct?

Depends why you think it.  If you think he's caught the ball but it actually hasn't gotten there yet, you can't tackle him.  However, you are allowed to pull him away from the loose ball to aid your own personal attempt to get at it.

These are very fine distinctions that are unlikely to be seen by any official, but let's say the ball's in the air and the receiver's not between you and it.  You can legally block the intended receiver to hinder his catch.  You can use your hands and arms to ward him off if he's blocking you (which he's allowed to do).  But you can't use your hands or arms to pull him away from the path of the ball's flight.

But let's say he's between you and the ball.  Then you can do all of the above, plus pull him away so you can catch the ball.  However, you can't hold him if your object is to restrict his movement, such as by bringing him to the ground.  But if he's juggling the ball closely, I hope there are no officials who'd say, you shouldn't've tackled him because you should've seen the ball was still loose, so illegal use of hands.


ReplyQuote
gumby_in_co
(@gumby_in_co)
Platinum
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 4550
 

9-3-C - A defensive player shall not use his hands or arms to hook, lock, clamp, grasp, encircle or hold in an effort to restrain an opponent other than the runner.

Okay. I stand corrected. Just knock the snot out him, then.

When I played CB in the 80s, option was king. My job was "get the pitch man". So I did. I just tackled the guy. Coach was happy and I never got called. Who knew I was cheating that whole time?

When in doot . . . glass and oot.


ReplyQuote
Coach Kyle
(@coach-kyle)
Platinum
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 3964
Topic starter  

@gumby_in_co

 

I'm pretty sure that if a player is acting like a runner "faking" or being ready to receive a pitch, they're a runner.

Deaths while walking 4,743Deaths from football 12


ReplyQuote
Share: