Starting from scrat...

Notifications
Clear all

Starting from scratch - O-Line

Page 3 / 5

patriotsfatboy1
(@patriotsfatboy1)
Platinum

That's one of the big advantages of 2-point is that it doesn't slow players with a weak core the way the 3 or 4-point stance will.  And at youth, almost everyone has a weak core.  In the Double Wing, I think the 2-point helps us to pull quicker, fit into Wedge blocking faster, already sets us in pass pro and hides our Fullback better than a 3-point.  We are using a 3-point this season, BTW.  lol

--Dave

I have been teaching 3 point and using 2 point for several years.  We practice in drills with the focus on 3 point stance for the line so that kids can work on their core strength, ball get off and maintaining leverage.  I do this for both offensive and defensive drills.  Then, we get to the offensive line work with the backs also involved, I allow players to go into 2 point stance if they feel more comfortable (usually if I tell them to). 

I would like them to know both 2 and 3 point stances and proper technique by the time that they move on up.  While younger kids will be better off with 2 point in many instances, I still want them working on 3 point and improving their core strength.

ReplyQuote
ZACH
 ZACH
(@bucksweep58)
Diamond

Everything about this is great, except that we're putting a lot of emphasis on making contact with the first step. Probably fine for shoulder blocking, but not what I want for hands blocking.

If each kid is already a step off it would take 2 steps to make contact.

This isnt a blocking drill or a technique drill its a get off the ball, fast, low ... but not every needs that i guess

I can explain it to you, I can't understand if for you.

ReplyQuote
PioneerCoach
(@pioneercoach)
Bronze