Notifications

Random advice  

RSS

coachmiket
(@coachmiket)
Gold
April 20, 2020 2:22 pm  

So I might have the chance to jump to the high school level in my sport I coach (not football).

There are potentially two options out there for me. 

A. Possible JV spot in the district I have been coaching jr high in for 5 years.  Also been involved in the youth program for 7-8 years.  I also live there and my kids go to school there (graduating sr and current soph).  So I know the kids,  town, school,  politics pretty well. Program has won several conference and district titles in recent history.

B. Possible varsity HC opening at a neighboring town (divisional rival).  I have some relationships there as well. I have coached some of the players in club ball.  I know several youth parents and players.  Program is in the top tier of the conference every year and challenges for district titles when things fall the right way.

Very tempted to throw my hat in the ring for one or both or neither and just continue working the jr high level and building our current youth program.

I am interested in your thoughts and considerations here.  You guys always seem to come up with something that never crossed my mind.

TIA

32wedge
(@32wedge)
Silver Moderator
Virginia
Middle School
Only / Head Coach
April 20, 2020 3:33 pm  

You lost me at "(not football)", but whether or not I grasp the concept of something besides football, I would encourage you to do what you want to do most.  Throw your hat in the ring.  If you get selected and it doesn't feel right, stay where you are now.  If you do get selected and you are still excited about the new opportunity, take it.  You only live once.

ReplyQuote
terrypjohnson
(@terrypjohnson)
Bronze
United States
Head Coach
April 20, 2020 10:51 pm  

As usual, I agree with @32wedge. As we say in software development, "never be afraid to suck at something new, especially if you enjoy it!"