Notifications

Where to line up?  

RSS

RJGiants75
(@rjgiants75)
Bronze
September 2, 2014 2:57 am  

Coaches,

I just want to make sure that I'm lining up correctly on ko/kor . Being that this is my first year as hc I want to make sure I'm lined up properly.

I believe we kickoff from our 40 so I guess we should line up around the 35?

With the KOR, does my front line stand at the 50 or 40 if the other team is kicking from their 40? How about my next 2 lines, how far back are they from the front line. Btw. I'm  doing the 5/4/2 KOR alignment.

CoachSugg
(@coachsugg)
Silver
September 2, 2014 6:41 am  

Coach,
On KO.  About 5 yards behind the line is the norm, make sure the kids are moving forward at the kick, but they need to be behind the kicker as to not be offsides.

On KR.  I use a 6-3-2 bcuz the immediate threat of an onside worries be the most.  My front 6 is within 2 yards of the 50 yard line (10 yard mark).  The next 3 are in the outside gaps (usual onside kick aiming point) and middle gap respectively.

Best 2 athletes are about 15-20 yards back.  Want them coming to the ball not running back to get it.

Kent SuggBridge Creek, OK

ReplyQuote
PSLCOACHROB
(@pslcoachrob)
Kryptonite
September 2, 2014 7:21 am  

New rules force all players but the kicker to be no more than 5 yards off the ball. Only the kicker can be deeper and if you get tricky and someone else kicks it there should a penalty. At least 4 men to each side of the kicker also.

ReplyQuote
RJGiants75
(@rjgiants75)
Bronze
September 2, 2014 7:28 am  

Coaches,

Thanks for the info. I did see in our league where we have to have 5 players on each side of the kicker. I didn't know about the entire ko team not being able to go back 5 years so thanks for the heads up.

So basically my best 2 returners will be at around my 35 yard line?

ReplyQuote
Bob Goodman
(@bob-goodman)
Diamond
New Jersey
3rd - 5th
Asst Coach
September 2, 2014 9:35 am