Notifications
Clear all

Flex bone for Fall 2021

Page 1 / 3

gumby_in_co
(@gumby_in_co)
Platinum
Topic starter  

Had a long talk with our OC last week. I'm giving him full control of the offense. I didn't have to insist on including Beast and 5 wide empty. We are on the same page in that regard. For our "regular" offense, he wants to run flex bone. I voiced my concerns with running triple option at the youth level and he had valid responses to each of them. So I told him to go for it.

I was a wishbone option QB in HS for our Sophomore team, so I have some experience with triple option.  I started digging into materials this weekend and found a flexbone blog as well as a Youtube channel called "Flexbone 101". Really good stuff. Our blocking schemes mesh perfectly with midline and inside veer. My takeaway is that essentially, the difference between midline, inside veer and outside veer is the POA for the dive and subsequently, the defender that you will option for the dive. 

I'm excited to dive into it and make it work. I know it will be a challenge, but nothing about football is easy. OC and I will put our heads together and build it.

When in doot . . . glass and oot.

CoachDP
(@coachdp)
Kryptonite

Posted by: @gumby_in_co

I voiced my concerns with running triple option at the youth level and he had valid responses to each of them.

Which were...?

--Dave

"The Greater the Teacher, the More Powerful the Player."

The Mission Statement: "I want to show any young man that he is far tougher than he thinks, that he can accomplish more than what he dreamed and that his work ethic will take him wherever he wants to go."

#BattleReady newhope

ReplyQuote
gumby_in_co
(@gumby_in_co)
Platinum
Topic starter  
Posted by: @coachdp

I voiced my concerns with running triple option at the youth level and he had valid responses to each of them.

Which were...?

--Dave