Notifications
Clear all

Letter from a former player

32wedge
(@32wedge)
Silver Moderator
Topic starter  

In the first game I ever won as a football coach, I had a five year old running back, Ethan, who ran the wrong way and scored 2 points for the other team.  I was running with him down the field pointing and screaming to go the other way.  Parents were yelling at him to turn the other way.  He had a big smile on his face as he crossed the goal line into the wrong end zone and I have had a few laughs about that over the years and since we won 26-2, I forgave him. 

About five years later, I got blindside attacked by a giant bear hug in a Walmart.  Ethan about knocked me down yelling coach!!!  Then I got to coach this kid again in middle school, but I was the offensive and defensive line coach and he was in one of the little guy groups so I didn't coach him directly.

I have commented back and forth on Facebook with him but have not seen him since he was in middle school.  Then today, I saw that his mom had posted a picture of a letter from him and he is currently in Marine Corps boot camp.  I got his address and am going to get him a letter in the mail tomorrow cause I know how great it is to get letters in boot camp.  Anyway, thinking about this little scrapper who wasn't very good at football but was a good kid has given me a little case of the warm fuzzies and that don't happen often.  

PS  Don't get wrapped up in Xs and Os and forget that the most important part of coaching is to have a positive impact on a kid's life.

Bill03, tiger46, patriotsfatboy1 and 4 people liked
tiger46
(@tiger46)
Bronze