Notifications

Playing Time - Confused/Frustrated  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS

tbmckie
(@tbmckie)
Copper
October 4, 2018 9:28 am  

I am a first year head coach of a fourth grade team.  The league is structured more like a rec league.  I have multiple years coaching at the HS level as a position coach and DC, so i never was involved with parents or admin.

Here's the deal, I got a group of 18, which is a good number.  All kids play in the game, but some kids do not get a lot of quality reps.  These kids also have 100% attendance at practice and for the most part, play up to their ability.  I have had 3 parent complaints about playing time.  What really gets me frustrated is all three kids have grown a lot over the year as players... increased confidence and increased toughness and I am personally proud of all three.  I try to explain that to the parents, and they dont get it, period.  Also frustrating is that 5th and 6th grade have kids that have not see the field yet and have no internal complaints. 

I realize i am taking this way to personal and I need a chill pill.  So, my question is this, how do you handle parent complaints about playing time and detach my personal feelings from it.  Not take it home so to speak.

SingleWingGoombah
(@singlewinggoombah)
Gold
October 4, 2018 9:36 am  

Can you expand on their playing time a bit?  What type of playing time are they getting? How many plays a game? What do you mean by quality reps?

So no attendance issues, are they problematic at practice? Lacking effort? Causing issues?

ReplyQuote
tbmckie
(@tbmckie)
Copper
October 4, 2018 9:46 am  

Once game is decided, i will start to rep them in, non quality reps.  I am not sure the number of reps, but more then just a couple plays.

They do show up to practice, they have shown good attitudes except for one and that just started Tuesday.

They are not game ready, they freeze, literally freeze.  Same thing used to happen in practice, but they have grown past that. 

ReplyQuote
CoachDP