Notifications
Clear all

Our 2021 Spring Season

Page 3 / 4

CoachDP
(@coachdp)
Kryptonite

Posted by: @gumby_in_co

Dave, we've had many conversations about this.

Yes, we have.  Which is confusing to me because I've explained it so many times.  And because of this I'm not saying that I'm that I'm a better coach.  I'm saying that your issue is simple to me.  "H" has to be held accountable and you're worried that coaching him in another way will cause him to quit.  Kids are far more likely to quit because of the relationship they have (don't have) with their coach, than they are because of how hard they're working.

--Dave

This post was modified 4 weeks ago by CoachDP

"The Greater the Teacher, the More Powerful the Player."

The Mission Statement: "I want to show any young man that he is far tougher than he thinks, that he can accomplish more than what he dreamed and that his work ethic will take him wherever he wants to go."

#BattleReady newhope

ReplyQuote
gumby_in_co
(@gumby_in_co)
Platinum

Posted by: @coachdp

Dave, we've had many conversations about this.

"H" has to be held accountable and you're worried that coaching him in another way will cause him to quit.  

Actually, I'm not. This is exactly how I'm going to coach him going forward.

I was specifically talking about your preseason conditioning regime where everyone is required to complete before they are on the team. I personally would LOVE to do that at the start of every season. It used to be in our league rules (both leagues that I've coached in). Interestingly, I just read our rules cover to cover and it seems this is no longer in the rulebook. I can't remember the exact language, but you couldn't use conditioning as a ruse to run kids off or encourage them to quit. I do not think that's what you are doing, but our league officials saw it differently.