We won our first ga...

Notifications
Clear all

We won our first game!

Page 4 / 6

Bob Goodman
(@bob-goodman)
Diamond

Win a playoff bracket then comeback & talk to us.  You don't believe in playoffs because your incapable of winning one.  You don't want a second crack at a team because you cant out coach them the second time around.

Where I've been coaching since 2010, we play each other twice already; last year we played 3 times.  In 2010, 2011, and 2012 the champs were undefeated, and in 2010 & 2011 that was us, so it's not like we can't beat anyone twice.  The circuit this guy wrote about was similarly small enough for each team to play the other twice, and they had time to do it.  Instead they knocked out the final 3 rounds so that some of those teams didn't get to play each other twice; instead some got knocked out & some played each other a 3rd time.  If you think they should get a 2nd game against each other, that's exactly what I'm advocating: a guaranteed 2nd matchup against each opponent.

Do you not see anything wrong with the possibility of a team's going 3-7 to win their championship?  Look at the other thread (re cheating) about teams sandbagging round robin play with one roster and then altering it for the games that count toward the title, i.e. knockouts.  Would they do that if all games counted the same?  Don't all the players deserve legitimate competition for 1st thru last place?

And I haven't seen anyone argue against my proposal to count only the scoring in the final quarter of games.  You can't, because it's the same as counting wins only in the final quarter or so of the season, which is how it is with unnecessary playoffs.  But you know that would make the games bogus; don't you see that the same bogusness applies to seasons arranged to have teams that already bested other teams in their standings have to play off with other games against them for the final ranking?